

Historic Triumph! Pakistan seals first ODI series victory in Australia since 2002



Published on November 10, 2024 Document Date: Sun, Aug 17 2025 07:28:13 pm Category: ,English,Snippets,Sports -Show on website : Click Here

Pakistan comfortably chased down the 141-run target set by Australia to win the third ODI, coming from behind to claim victory in the series. This marks the Green Shirts' first series win on Australian soil since 2002. Opener Saim Ayub scored 42 off 52 balls, while Abdullah Shafique made 37 runs off 53 deliveries. Lance Morris grabbed the wickets of both openers, the only two wickets to fall int he Pakistani chase. Babar Azam (28 off 30) and captain Mohammad Rizwan (30 off 27) remained not out as Pakistan comfortably chased down the 140-run target in 27 overs. Shaheen

Shah Afridi and Naseem Shah took three wickets each. Meanwhile Haris Rauf took 2 wickets, and Mohammad Hasnain took one wicket. The Australian batting top order tried to play aggressively, but the Pakistani blowlers kept picking wickets at regular intervals denying any sigificant parternships to be built. Jack Fraser-McGurk was dismissed by Naseem Shah for 7 runs. Opener Mathew Short and Extras at 22 runs each were the secong highest run makers for Austrlia. Marcus Stoinis made 8 runs, and Glenn Maxwell went out for a duck. Opener Matthew During the match, Cooper Connolly was retired hurt after being hit on the hand, scoring 7 runs. Austrlia's top-scorer Sean Abbott 30(41) and Adam Zampa 13(22) offered some late resistance. Spencer Johson 12(12) remained not out. At the day start, Pakistan's captain Mohammad Rizwan won the toss and decided to field first, stating that they wanted to win the match and the series to make the tour memorable. On the other hand, Australian captain Josh Inglis expressed confidence in winning the match to secure the series, with five changes made to the playing eleven. Cooper Connolly, Marcus Stoinis, Lance Morris, Shaun Abbott, and Spencer Johnson were included in the team. Australian soil has mostly been the site of nightmares for Pakistan over decades. But ignited by the performance of its pace attack, Pakistan are on the verge of a rare series victory in Australia and entered today's series decider at the Optus Stadium highly confident after a nine-wicket hammering of the world champions in Adelaide. The national team dominated the final two

matches with both bat and ball, outclassing a strong Australian side. Pakistan clinched the series 2-1, achieving a historic victory over Australia for the first time since 2002. What turned out to be a close fighting contest, Pakistan lost the first ODI in Melbourne agaisnt the hosts. Pakistan Squad: Captain Mohammad Rizwan, Saim Ayub, Abdullah Shafiq, Babar Azam, Kamran Ghulam, Salman Agha, Irfan Khan, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Naseem Shah, Haris Rauf, Mohammad Hasnain Australia Squad: Captain Josh Inglis, Matt Short, Jack Fraser-McGurk, Aaron Hardy, Cooper Connolly, Marcus Stoinis, Glenn Maxwell, Shaun Abbott, Adam Zampa, Spencer Johnson, Lance Morris.