

RAHBAR KISAN INTERNATIONAL

Gilani triumphant from Islamabad as PPP dominates Senate

by-polls

Published on March 14, 2024

Document Date: Thu, Oct 31 2024 05:29:09 pm

Category: ,English,Latest - ,Snippets

Show on website: Click Here

The Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) secured four Senate seats, while the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) and Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam-Fazl (JUI-F) each won one seat. Elections were held on one Senate seat from Islamabad, two from Sindh and three from Balochistan. A total of 301 members of the National Assembly cast their votes. Yousaf Raza Gilani, the joint candidate of the

ruling coalition, was re-elected as Senator on his own vacant seat from Islamabad. He received 204 votes, while the candidate of Sunni Ittehad Council, Ilyas Mehrban, received 88 votes. A total of 124 votes were cast for the two Senate seats in Sindh, out of which 123 votes were found valid. Both candidates of the Pakistan Peoples Party emerged victorious. Aslam Abro and Saifullah Dharejo won the seats with 57 and 58 votes respectively. In the Balochistan Assembly, out of 65 members, 61 votes were cast. Mir Abdul Qudoos Bizenjo of the PPP secured 23 votes, Abdul Shakoor Gabol of the JUI-Freceived 16 votes, and Mir Dostain Domki of the PML-N obtained 17 votes, thus becoming senators. Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan (MQM-P) decided to stay away from the Senate by-elections, while Jamaat-e-Islami (JI) also boycotted the process. Meanwhile, the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf(PTI) found itself on the sidelines, once again grappling with the loss of its electoral symbol in the parliamentary realm. As per the dictates of the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP), only parties with electoral symbols are eligible to partake in the Senate polls, adhering to the same rules governing general elections. Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) had declared that a poll will be held on April 2 to fill 48 vacant seats in the Senate.