

Spain, Norway, Ireland Announce Official Recognition of State of Palestine

Published on May 22, 2024

Document Date: Mon, Aug 25 2025 11:27:20 pm

Category: ,English,International -

,Snippets

Show on website: Click Here

European Capitals, May 22 (QNA)—Spain, Norway, and Ireland officially announced Wednesday their recognition of the State of Palestine in a step that will take effect on May 28.

Spanish Prime Minister Pedro Sanchez affirmed that his country's declaration of a foreign policy that respects international law in Palestine and Spain's vote at the UN for full membership of the State of Palestine, was in support of this decision.

He explained that the recognition of the State of Palestine is for peace, justice, and harmony in Spanish-Palestinian positions, emphasizing that the two-state solution is the only resolution to the conflict and is essential for reaching an agreement.

The Spanish Prime Minister also stressed that for the sake of justice, the international community's aspiration to liberate Palestinian territories must be fulfilled, noting that his country's recognition will serve as a cornerstone for restoring dignity.

He said that this recognition will inspire other European countries to recognize the State of Palestine, adding that other European countries will join them in recognizing the State of Palestine in the coming days. Recognition is the first step, Sanchez said, indicating that Spain will continue to support the State of Palestine with all their strength.

For his part, Norwegian Prime Minister Jonas Gahr Store said that his country will recognize

Palestine as an independent state starting May 28 and that the goal of recognition is to establish a

politically cohesive Palestinian State based on the Palestinian Authority.

In Ireland, Irish Prime Minister Simon Harris announced that his country's recognition of the State of Palestine is a historic and important day for Ireland and Palestine.

There are nine European Union member sates that recognize the State of Palestine, namely:

Bulgaria, Poland, the Czech Republic, Romania, Slovakia, Hungary, Cyprus, Sweden, and Malta.